Skip to content

Politics and economics

On this page you will find information about the political system in Denmark.

The political system in Denmark is a multi-party system, where several parties are represented in the Parliament (Danish: Folketinget). Danish governments are often minority administrations, governing with the aid of one or more supporting parties. This means that Danish politics are characterised by inter-party compromising. Since 1909 no single party has had the majority of parliamentary seats.

The Danish municipalities have a high degree of local autonomy – this means for example that they have their own elections and local administrations.

The present Constitution dates back to 1849 and was last amended in 1953. It is based on a belief in the tripartition of power, dividing power between an executive, a legislative and a judicial.

The Head of State is H. M. Queen Margrethe II while the executive power rests with the Prime Minister, currently H.E. Mrs. Helle Thorning-Schmidt, the first female Prime Ministers of Denmark, appointed 3th October 2011.

The legislative power lies with the Parliament. The Parliament has 179 members of which two are elected in Greenland and two in the Faroe Islands. The voting age has been 18 years since 1978 and the suffrage is universal. Women were given the right to participate in elections in 1915.

To learn more, please follow the links below.

The Danish Parliament    
The Prime Minister’s Office    
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark  

The Central Bank of Denmark    
Danish Economic Councils    
Ministry of Finance